Digital Insights
SHARES

Boxes You Want to Uncheck on LinkedIn

By

Published: November 12, 2011
(Thanks to Brad Remillard of Impact Hiring Solutions for passing along this great information.)

Business-based social media site LinkedIn has followed in Facebook‘s footsteps with massive under-the-radar privacy policy changes.  Linkedin has changed its privacy settings so that they can automatically share your profile information with advertisers unless you opt-out.

Recently, LinkedIn changed its settings to allow it to mine data from personal profiles to be used in third-party advertisements.

The privacy policy, which was last revised on June 16, reveals the company “may sometimes pair an advertiser’s message with social content from LinkedIn’s network in order to make the ad more relevant”.

“By providing social context we make it easy for our members to learn about products and services that the LinkedIn network is interacting with,” it says.

Apparently, LinkedIn has done us the “favor” of having a default setting whereby our names and photos can be used for third-party advertising.

So if you want to “opt-out” of the opportunity to have LinkedIn sharing your information, you must do the following in three different places:

1) Login to Linkedin

2) At the very top you will see your Name.  Hold your mouse over this and a drop down box will appear.  Click “Settings.”

3) In “Settings,” click Email Preferences on the left.  On the right, you will see “Turn on/off invitations to participate in research.” Click this link and uncheck the box that appears.

4) Still in “Settings,” click Groups, Companies & Applications.  On the right under “Privacy Controls,” click “Turn on/off data sharing with 3rd party applications.” Click this link and uncheck the box that appears.

5) Still in “Settings,” click Account.  Under “Privacy Controls,” click “Manage Social Advertising” and “Turn on/off enhanced advertising.” Click the links and uncheck the boxes that appear.

6) Finally and probably most importantly, let Linkedin know this sneaky, back handed way of sharing the information we trust them with is uncalled for.  Send them feedback telling them that you should only need to opt-in and never be forced to opt-out.  Doing this is easy.  On the far right of the “Settings” page, you will see a box asking for feedback.

SEND IT TO THEM.

Contact Digital Eye Media for information on how to Create and Manage your Social Media Marketing Campaigns: P: (714/556-0576; sales@digitaleyemedia.com.